DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

-18°C/-4°F Winter footage, first time flight/edit/color. Feedback would be awesome!

Pillowmage

Reactions

Hey all, it's my first time flying my drone and first try at editing with Premiere Pro (trial version).

I shot in D-Log and colored for the very first time. I tinted the video a bit red for some warmth and added some blue to the sky as the original footage had white light, white snow and a lot of white clouds, which looked very boring.

There were a lot of lessons that I learned from this, and I would still love to get any feedback from the more experienced here. Shoot me some comments and even a like on my Youtube video. Thanks!!

Reactions: genesimmons
You did a lot for your first flight and first try at video editing. Bravo. You got a lot of good shots. You asked for some feedback so I'll give you some thoughts:

1) Adding the red. Color grading is a taste thing and no two people will share the same opinion and a color grade also has to do with the mood you are trying to create. To me, one of the beautiful things about snowscapes is the fact that things are blanketed in that pure white. I like to see winter scenes white. If you nail the color balance, you shouldn't have to change the color cast. If you go with pure white, then anything that does have color can really pop, especially if you increase the saturation in post (which I'm sure you did if you shot D-log). Bringing out the blue in the sky as you did is a perfect example of how this works. As a note, if you do have to adjust the color balance, using the scopes (especially the RGB Parade) can help you tremendously and is better than using the naked eye.

2) Your camera movements were generally quite smooth. You don't often see that from someone just starting out.