DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

360 Spherical Video with the dji Mavic Pro

DonLandis

Reactions
360 Degree Spherical Video for Virtual Reality is very new and cameras fior this have only been out for a short time at Consumer pricing. Google Earth has had the capability in still images for some time. I became fascinated with the technology after seeing a few early adopter cameras at CES a couple years ago. I had a Giroptic 360 camera on preorder for a year as the company took their good old time getting the camera to work properly. I've done a few videos with it on my YT channel both hand held and tripod mounted. The Giroptic360 uses 3 cameras for a total of only 2048x1024 pixels. I'm still learning how to shoot this technique and now have a preorder in for an 8 Camera 3D version that is claimed to be 4K x 2K. Hopefully it will arrive next month.

I thought wouldn't it be great for the Mavic Pro to haul the Giroptic360 into the air and travel at low altitudes for a smooth dolly 360° view that the viewer would control up down and all around?

I set about testing this with a simple mount to put the Giroptic360 on top, piggyback, to the Mavic Pro. I wanted to mount underneath but realized the camera would block the downward sensors so on top it must go.

My first test did not work as I had used a 5" high tube. It never got off the ground. Just tipped over into the grass and props stopped, Nothing broken. See my failure pics. DSC00933s.jpg DSC00934s.jpg

Good it crashed on the ground. So I wasn't sure what the weight lift capability of the Mavic was but a YT video where an owner did a test of the lift capability and found it to safely lift 3 to 4 pounds. I was encouraged as the Giroptic only weighs 180 grams. So it must be that I needed to lower the center of gravity.