DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now
Reactions
I noticed that there doesn't seem to be a lot of action footage out there so I thought I would treat you all with some.

I recorded these guys drifting around an abandoned road system in FL. Recording them in action was some of the most fun I have ever had.

I'm still new at this and I made mistakes but I think it turned out pretty well.

Below the videos I will put some details, questions, and stray observations I've made since recording these videos, if anyone is interested keep on scrolling.

(Fun little crash around 3:15 on the first video)

Dji Mavic Pro: C4K/24FPS/Auto with controller and Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge
GoPro Hero5 Black: 4K/24FPS/Auto with suction cup mount
Edited with Corel VideoStudio Ultimate X9.5

Before I got the Mavic I practiced with a Hubsan H107C for a year. I still consider myself very new to quadcopters. I learned that there are some very important things to consider when recording unscripted action like this. I thought I had it all planned out, but I still almost hit a tree.

This is by no means a comprehensive list. Just some things I found to be helpful.
  1. Having an attentive visual observer is a must (and the law).
    • I was trying to fly low for some of the shots and my spotter informed me people had walked into the field to get pictures near my flight path.
    • It's easy to get so involved in the action you forget about your surroundings. A spotter can keep you in check.
    • The Mavic did an excellent job holding altitude but I still had the spotter constantly give me feedback about how close the ground I was.
  2. If you're ever lost or unsure about where you are, just stop moving. I was getting a really cool shot and thought I may be close to a tree. Turns out I was very close to a tree and I'm glad I didn't risk it.