DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

AMA LiPo guide

Excellent source, but bear in mind that the Mavics battery is intelligent, and charging it is a little different than charging a standard lipo with deans connector. Biggest difference is that you should only charge it with a DJI charger.

Excellent source, but bear in mind that the Mavics battery is intelligent, and charging it is a little different than charging a standard lipo with deans connector. Biggest difference is that you should only charge it with a DJI charger.

Why only DJI charger, the "intelligence" for current limitation and cell balance is all in the battery, I have used other chargers for my Mavic battery without ill effect, read my post on how to charge a Mavic battery in an emergency with 2 paper clips, some bits of wire, and a car battery... :)
Waylander

Hi Thunderdrones

I work in the field of electronics, as a technician, DJI or anyone else for that matter, do not have a crystal ball, in addition I very much doubt that DJI or any of it's sub-contractors have the time or the will to strip down a battery to find out what has gone wrong with it, they probably handle hundreds of them, the battery at best will be consigned to the recycle bin.
A great deal of hype is spoken about "INTELIGENT" flight batteries, In simple terms the Mavic batteries have a built in charge/discharge control circuit which regulates the charge rate to each cell.
The battery requires a DC voltage of around 13.05v to charge, and draws a current of around 2 amps when at around 20% charge state.
The current consumption of the battery falls proportionally as the state of charge increases, down to milliamp's when it approaches a fully charged state, I believe that this reduction in charging current is what the on board circuit detects, and as a consequence turns off the solid state switching device which allowed it to receive charge.