DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Anyone else shopping for larger hard drives lately?

halley

Reactions
Okay, I am an avid photographer, and I don't delete anything except for the unsalvageable mistakes (Exposure all black, all white, accidental shutter in the camera bag, etc.). I have automation scripts that make it easy for me to import, catalogue, back up, tag, and organize all my photos from the past 15 years. I rarely capture video with my DSLR but when I do, it gets managed by the same process.

In addition, I am well-versed in data backups. I suggest anyone who cares about their data (of any digital kind) to keep four levels of backup: ONLINE, NEARLINE, OFFLINE and OFFSITE. At a minimum, I recommend NEARLINE and OFFSITE.
  • ONLINE: available all the time, such as a folder on your computer
  • NEARLINE: available in minutes, such as a USB drive you can reach at any time and plug in
  • OFFLINE: available with some effort, such as closed in a fire safe in the basement
  • OFFSITE: available if your house burns down, such as at your Mom's house or a bank box
Hoo boy, I just saw how much data I am creating when I save screen recordings and Mavic Pro flight recordings.

I just casually visited Amazon for the current pricing on 8TB hard drives. I looked at the specs of my disk array cabinets to see what they can handle, too.

Anyone else suddenly shopping for new and larger drives?

Yup - they're really expensive right now, production shortages last year I believe...