DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Can someone please explain this craziness???

hidaven

Reactions
I'm a pro photographer and I must say I'm perplexed. Take a look at these 2 images. I selective focused on the lower right. technically anything on that plane should be in focus, but its not. Cant say its a soft corner as if I focus ont he other left side, the right is thrown out of focus. Would you say this lens is decentered or is this just field curvature rearing its ugly head?

Attachments

• DJI_0042.JPG
    DJI_0042.JPG
    3.3 MB · Views: 909
  • DJI_0030.JPG
    DJI_0030.JPG
    3.8 MB · Views: 947
See the many other threads on focusing issues. The Mavic doesn't do good in low light (doesn't seem like your issue) but there is also an issue with the sensor on some Mavics and you may need to send it back for replacement. I had to send mine back and got a replacement that works much better.

Not low light IMO, a sensor issue would make it tough to get the bad side focused all the time. This is an issue where you can select focus on all areas of the image with sharp results, only the other side will be out of focus. My gut is that is bad field curvature or wavy F.C. its an f2.2 lens so unless someone can point something else out......I'll take your advice and send it back.

Reactions: mangospoops
Not low light IMO, a sensor issue would make it tough to get the bad side focused all the time. This is an issue where you can select focus on all areas of the image with sharp results, only the other side will be out of focus. My gut is that is bad field curvature or wavy F.C. its an f2.2 lens so unless someone can point something else out......I'll take your advice and send it back.
Yeah, my issue was that no matter what I did the right side and especially the bottom right corner were way out of focus, even when I tapped to focus on the lower right corner.

I'm a pro photographer and I must say I'm perplexed.