DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Commercial vs Hobby Confusion

HeartOfTexas

Reactions
I'm new to the drone world and loving my Mavic Pro. I have a side business (not my 'real' job) designing and maintaining websites. I can see where I would potentially offer to film a location for a customer. But this would be a 1 or 2 time thing and not something I would make additional money off of. I am not daunted at the thought of the commercial license, but it does seem that the requirements and responsibilities that accompany it are greater. What should I do? I'd almost rather not charge for the extra service just to keep my hobbyist status...

Thanks

If you use it for business it's commercial. Even thought you wouldn't charge for it, it is in the package they are paying for. But then I'm not a lawyer.

Thanks, that's what I figured. What I have also read after posing this question is that when you are just flying for fun, you are considered a hobbyist and only those rules apply. Does that sound right?

Thanks, that's what I figured. What I have also read after posing this question is that when you are just flying for fun, you are considered a hobbyist and only those rules apply. Does that sound right?

Yes.

That sounds right to me.

I'm new to the drone world and loving my Mavic Pro. I have a side business (not my 'real' job) designing and maintaining websites. I can see where I would potentially offer to film a location for a customer. But this would be a 1 or 2 time thing and not something I would make additional money off of. I am not daunted at the thought of the commercial license, but it does seem that the requirements and responsibilities that accompany it are greater. What should I do? I'd almost rather not charge for the extra service just to keep my hobbyist status...

Thanks