DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

"Controlled crash" landing

ThorH

Reactions
Noob here, on a steep learning curve. Lost control of the Mavic today, it started drifting out of my control towards some buildings. I force landed it, unfortunately crashing into a fence on my way down. (Two props, no other damage.) I am sure there probably would have been a better action, can anyone help me understand what I did wrong and how I could have saved it? Here is a link to the flight log:

Phantom Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

The google image there is seriously outdated btw, people live in the building I almost hit now.

Thanks,

Noob here, on a steep learning curve. Lost control of the Mavic today, it started drifting out of my control towards some buildings. I force landed it, unfortunately crashing into a fence on my way down. (Two props, no other damage.) I am sure there probably would have been a better action, can anyone help me understand what I did wrong and how I could have saved it? Here is a link to the flight log:

Phantom Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

The google image there is seriously outdated btw, people live in the building I almost hit now.

Thanks,
Already, here's the verdict. You took off and all systems were normal while hovering. I notice there was a wind going during your flight. At some point during your hover, your GPS Health dropped to 1. This effectively broke the GPS lock your drone had and switched it back to Atti mode. The wind was now carrying the drone towards the building with essentially no input from you until it descended when you pulled back the throttle and landed, making it a very close call. It nearly crashed into the building.