DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Do you need an ND filter? Select the right filter for a given scene!

heo3480

Reactions
Do you need an ND filter? How do you select the right filter for a given scene!

I made this beginners tutorial covering the basics around ND filters for your Mavic Pro and to help you select the right ND filter for a specific scene/light.

Last edited:
Thank you guys, much appreciated. Are you using ND filters? and what type?

Thank you guys, much appreciated. Are you using ND filters? and what type?

I just bought these yesterday. Will try today if the rain holds off.

2cce729841cbb6067b4f5c315a1479c5.jpg

Reactions: Bubz7471
Where did you buy this set? I haven't seen this particular combination.

I got the same set. I have very little knowledge about filters in general but If I'm not mistaken, the ND 8 and ND16 filters in this pack are NOT polarized.
No they won't be. ND means neutral density which translates for us to mean they filter light out only. So in theory they should filter all light the same thus only darkening the image, not altering it.

Reactions: R1Mavic
No they won't be. ND means neutral density which translates for us to mean they filter light out only. So in theory they should filter all light the same thus only darkening the image, not altering it.

Correct, but ND filters can also be polarized too such as the PolarPro cinema series. So what are the advantages of having non polarized ND filters and having polarized ND filters?

Someone said this set from Best Buy needs to be altered to work properly. It was suggested to remove the inner piece and cut a portion off to allow you to be able to get a section off and then you're able to get the rest. Apparently without doing this you apply too much force to the gimble. We'll see.

Reactions: smatthews