DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

FAA, Local & State Laws.... Wishful Thinking

Ray&Paula

Reactions
My 2 cents...... As a hobbyist, I've been wanting to purchase a Mavic Pro for some time now. BUT..... Between all the controversy of FAA and state & local rules and regulations I've become hesitant. I do understand the basic rules here in the USA such as;
  • Fly at or below 400 feet
  • Keep your UAS within sight
  • Never fly near other aircraft, especially near airports
  • Never fly over groups of people
  • Never fly over stadiums or sports events
  • Never fly near emergency response efforts such as fires
  • Never fly under the influence
  • Be aware of airspace requirements
  • Privacy
I can live with these rules along with registering (no longer needed as of 05-20-2017). Also, I.M.O. everyone should fly safely and responsibly. I would like to see a state by state list of where you can fly and/or not fly other than apps such as b4ufly. In other words, it would be nice if local city and state governments would have a simple list such as above. I do realize that this is wishful thinking and would in all likelihood never happen. It would resolve a lot of misunderstood laws in your own backyard and/or when traveling. If there are such lists, I haven't found them yet. Thanks for letting me vent my thoughts and have a happy 4th of July. Ray

I can live with these rules along with registering (no longer needed as of 05-20-2017).
According to John Taylor (the guy who took the FAA to court), registration is still required as of today. See more details in his case update here.

it would be nice if local city and state governments would have a simple list such as above