DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

FAA Registration?

mstgkillr

Reactions
I'm new to drones over 0.55lbs so please take it easy on me. I've already read several threads stating that drones from 0.55-55lbs need to be registered with the FAA. Normally, I wouldn't have a problem with this as I will be a conscientious drone operator. However, I do see some issues.

The FAA Registry is searchable by anyone with a computer and displays the name, address, drone model/manufacturer, and FAA# of all who register.
  1. What would stop someone who really wants, lets say a DJI Inspire, from searching the database, finding a matching address and then stealing the drone while the owner is away at work?
  2. What about a crazy neighbor that would do anything to get someone in trouble... knowing that I have a drone that is registered, searching the database and finding my FAA#, buying a drone only to place my FAA# on it before doing something stupid?
I know these might seem like extreme examples but there are some wackos out there. Out of curiosity, I searched the FAA Registry for my county which has a population over 700,000 and I only found 18 registered drones. And of those registrations, several were from the same individual or corporation with only 13 different entities registered. There were a total of 4 individuals, 7 corporations, 1 co-owner, and 1 government with various amounts of registered drones. I would think there are more than 18 drones in my county of over 700,000 people? So what gives, why aren't more people registering?

Any input would be great?

The FAA Registry is searchable by anyone with a computer and displays the name, address, drone model/manufacturer, and FAA# of all who register.
This is only true for aircraft that are registered for commercial operations. Hobbyist registrations cannot be found online.