DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

FAA

MavicEric

Reactions
This is only my opinion but I think the FAA has always been in charge of the enforcement of all air space in the United States. Why are state and local governments overstepping their jurisdiction and making laws and ordnances aginst drones. This should not be allowed. Most drone flyers I have met want to follow the FAA rules we do not need our state and local governments to regulate something they do not have a clue about. I would like to hear comments from the drone flying community.

Dr Eric Cohen MD
Orlando, FL

Reactions: rickybobby
As an experienced MR pilot, I really want to agree with you. But, drones are now consumer products. For every experienced pilot, there are a hundred inexperienced pilots. Some of whom fly recklessly. The public needs to be protected. That said, I have seen poorly thought out city ordinance passed by politicians whose only experience with a drone is what they hear on the nightly "be very afraid" broadcast (the "news").

Reactions: MavicEric
Why do local law makers do it? Because they can. Illegal laws are made all of the time. You may find as you go down the ladder that people making local laws (cities, counties, townships, etc.) don't understand the issues and don't apply the proper expertise in making those local laws.

Another issue may be that the US regulations on UAV use were left a little open for interpretation. This gives the impression to many law makers that they can make certain laws to regulate airspace. Until they are challenged, they will continue to do this.

Bottom line... keep in mind that laws are not always 100% legal. Illegal laws are made _all of the time_. This is not only about UAV matters.

Reactions: MavicEric
I think there are a number of factors at play here.