DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Filming

• Thread starter Deleted member 21971
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 21971

I'm new to some of this. The problem is, any time there is light colored dirt or soil patches in the grass, it seems to wash out all detail on the ground. The grass and everything else looks great, but the brighter soil comes out pure white with no detail, like small rocks or holes. It just looks all white. Same with the hazy sky. I have tried several filters, including the "polarized" ones. Same problem. Any info. would be great. Thanks.

I'm new to some of this. The problem is, any time there is light colored dirt or soil patches in the grass, it seems to wash out all detail on the ground. The grass and everything else looks great, but the brighter soil comes out pure white with no detail, like small rocks or holes. It just looks all white. Same with the hazy sky. I have tried several filters, including the "polarized" ones. Same problem. Any info. would be great. Thanks.

Sounds like exposing for the dark areas over-exposes bright areas.
Unavoidable to some extent. Using D-Log and more serious editing afterwards would probably help, otherwise some compromise will be required in some scenes.
With more sophisticated editing software you can pull down highlights and lift shadows.
Generally results are much better with sun behind you and early or late in the day.
Try using the Histogram and/or over exposure indication.
It's tough relying on what you see on screen when it's barely possible to see it on bright days.

You always want to expose for the highlights and make sure nothing clips except reflections or such (zebra helps). You can push the shadows to some extent (limit being the noise) but what's blown you can't do anything about on a camera that shoots 8-bit video.

What would be a good editing software? I would need an easy one.LOL