DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

First drone- would like to fly commercially

mavic14

Reactions
Hi everyone,

Just wanted to say thanks to everyone for all the great information I've already learned on this forum. I just recently got the Mavic Pro (I love it), but would like to start flying commercially for the company I work with. I work in the video industry so the footage would be great to use. I've read that in order to this I need to complete my 107 certification.

A couple questions I have in regards to the 107 certification.
  • Is there anything I need to take prior to taking the test?
  • Does it cost money to take the test?
  • Once I get the certification, is that all I need to start using footage commercially?
  • If I'm within 5 miles of an airport, is the process really to fill out a waiver and I'll have to wait 60 days to actually be able to fly my drone?
  • Are there any other certifications that I need to use drone footage professionally?

Thanks!

Welcome to the forums. Here ya go...
  • Nope.
  • $150.00
  • Once I get the certification, is that all I need to start using footage commercially?
  • Yes
  • If I'm within 5 miles of an airport, is the process really to fill out a waiver and I'll have to wait 60 days to actually be able to fly my drone?
  • Contact ATC (air traffic control). Call the airport directly by phone to notify them of your intention to fly.
  • Are there any other certifications that I need to use drone footage professionally?
  • Part 107 is all you need. Be sure to register your drone online as well.

Welcome to the forums. Here ya go...
  • Nope.
  • $150.00
  • Yes
  • Contact ATC (air traffic control). Call the airport directly by phone to notify them of your intention to fly.
  • Part 107 is all you need. Be sure to register your drone online as well.

Hey, here is the FAA site that explains everything you need to know about part 107

Becoming a Pilot