DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying over water

alexb77

Reactions
OK, so I'm going abroad soon to Australia and am looking to get some great footage of the coast. I'm new to the Mavic anyway, probably 20 flights in, all over land and am really enjoying it, getting some good footage too now that I've understood the camera settings more.

I will be totally new to flying over or near water. Does anyone have any tips or guidelines I should follow, I really don't want to lose the drone or damage it, or anyone else!

Please share your top tips!

1. Switch off VPS (Vertical Position Sensors), as they seem to get confused over water, leading to unwanted ascends/descends

2. With water often comes wind. If you are planning longer flights, make sure that you start against the wind, so that when the battery gets empty and the Mav wants to come back, it doesn't need to fly against the wind.

Nothing more to add really... I have done most of my flights over or near to water, and though a bit apprehensive at first, there's not much to it.

Please share your top tips!
  • Don't fly close to the surface of the water unless your Mavic is nearby and you can see it with your eyes.
  • Disable the "Landing Protection" setting in DJI GO (see below) to prevent unwanted ascends/descends.
DJI-GO-Landing-Protection.jpg

- Avoid flying with offshore winds
- Ensure that Enhanced Flight Modes are enabled
- Turn off Forward Obstacle Avoidence (gives more speed)
- Turn off Smart Return Home
- Disable Downwards Vision Positioning (waves might disturb it)
- In case of emmergency don't rely on RTH but switch to Sports mode, reduce altitude to few meters above water and take the shortest way back to the coast, there fly along the coast in low altitude back to your location)

Reactions: harryb
Those are some great tips, and really important to have known as I wouldn't have done any of that. Thanks!

- Avoid flying with offshore winds