DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Gimbal camera abnormal startup - horizontal calibartion knocking on gimbal metallic limits

Mr Spock

Reactions
I am starting a new thread here as nobody has provided an answer to this very specific issue even though i searched the forum.
My gimbal was working fine till a month ago it started doing this during start up - see vid.
The camera during startup is knocking very hard during horizontal axis calibration at startup and this will eventually render my camera unless as the gears internally will be damaged along with the cam feedback potentiometers.
I have calibrated the IMU and the compass, the gimbal and so on... and i am an experienced DJI pilot owned a Phantom 3 Advanced, an Inspire 1 v2 in the past and my Mavic Pro now.
is there any fix for this ?
By the way I am on FW .0400 (not moving to another FW as this is the most stable one).

pic
dd2377c06a495b32b553d4af700a5e81.jpg

Just FYI, Im pretty sure there are no gears inside the gimbal to strip. All the motors are direct drive. The worst that can happen is as you say one of the potentiometers might become overloaded and then cause either a tilt, roll or yaw, and the motor affected by the defective potentiometer would start to buzz or smoke. I have only seen this happen after a crash where the motor circuit board was damaged and the motor was trying to turn the gimbal in a direction it wasnt designed to go due and binding at that point due to the potentiometer giving bad signals to the motor. The motor will heat up and buzz and you will get a gimbal overload message. If it's just doing it for a second during self-calbiration, it wouldnt bother me too much as long as the camera centers after the test, which yours appears to be doing. Also, the majority of your Mavics running time will be spent with the gimbal straight and level, not binding at any point.