DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Gimbal Camera Vs S-Mode Vs Wind ?

Distracto_o

Reactions
Hey guys,

New to this forum :) I have a concern about the gimbal while its being used in sport mode, in windy conditions (20km/h). Does it damage the gimbal since its quite windy and the mavic in s-mode makes sudden movements ?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using MavicPilots mobile app

I have flown flat out in Sport Mode at about 40 MPH with 22 mph winds and my gimbal is perfect!

DJI tests the Mavic out in a variety of conditions to simulate real world flying events and circumstances.

Now crashing is a different story as the position of the gimbal and its mount at the front lower portion of the Mavic Pro puts it in significant risk of damage due to forward crashes.

I have flown flat out in Sport Mode at about 40 MPH with 22 mph winds and my gimbal is perfect!

DJI tests the Mavic out in a variety of conditions to simulate real world flying events and circumstances.

Now crashing is a different story as the position of the gimbal and its mount at the front lower portion of the Mavic Pro puts it in significant risk of damage due to forward crashes.
Thanks for your reply man, was worrying a bit hehe :)

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using MavicPilots mobile app

I am reading this forum and this kinda starts to scare me. I only did a couple of flights with the Mavic, but already happened to notice flying in high wind, flying in sport mode and doing abrupt maneuvers or any combination of the above manages to jerk the gimbal enough for it to be visible on the footage, and i didn't think it may actually damage it unless i crash it into some wall or a tree, but this kind of posts makes me worry. I really hope the gimbal is designed to withstand the maximum G force the drone can deliver under any conditions, in any mode, except crashes. Hopefully someone can confirm this is, indeed, the case.