Gimbal Disconnected?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Tony Perry, Nov 16, 2016.

  1. Tony Perry

    Tony Perry Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have had fewer than 20 flights on my Mavic and now when I connect to it with the DJI Go App, the Gimbal Status says "Gimbal Disconnected". I have a (blurry) image and the gimbal appears to be powered, but it isn't responding to any commands. I can't focus it, and i can't adjust the tilt or change the mode. I tried removing and reinstalling DJI Go, rebooting the phone, I even tried a different device..with the same results.

    The last time I flew it was completely uneventful. I flew out, flew back, landed on flat concrete and then put the gimbal clamp and cover on it and put it away.

    Anyone seen this before?
     
  2. Faithful-Niner

    Faithful-Niner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Wake County NC
    Subbing to see what people say


    Sent from my iPhone using MavicPilots
     
  3. Tony Perry

    Tony Perry Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    7
    Reinstalled DJI Go.
    Tried a different smart phone.
    Did IMU calibration
    Tried to calibrate gimbal (it did not start)
    Reset to Factory settings with Assistant 2


    Now they want me to send it back. UGH!
     
  4. Multicoptertec

    Multicoptertec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    16
    Does it work with just the controller?


    Sent from my iPad using MavicPilots
     
  5. Tony Perry

    Tony Perry Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    7
    Nope.
     
  6. Anthony

    Anthony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    I think you are looking at enabeling RTH back to DJI .... im sure they will sort it.
     
  7. Tony Perry

    Tony Perry Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    7
    It looks like that's where we are. They said to look out for info re: a shipping label in email but haven't seen anything yet. Does that normally take a while?
     
  8. Anthony

    Anthony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    From the few i have seen coments on 24/48 hrs...
     
  9. Tony Perry

    Tony Perry Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    7
    Also posted this on the DJI forum:

    Ok, so this is the strangest thing.

    As I was packing up my Mavic to get ready to ship back, I replaced the 32GB microsd card that I had in there with the card that came with the Mavic....and it started working again. WTF?

    I checked the 32gb card in my pc, and it seemed to be fine. Even ran a scan on it. To see if that was really the cause, I put the 32gb card back in the Mavic, and the gimbal became non-responsive again.

    I put the 16gb card back in, it started working again.

    WTH? Should I still send it back? Should I just not use that card? I'm not sure what to do at this point.
     
  10. Random155

    Random155 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    24
    Wow. I would buy another SD card and see what happens, just to test it out. You can always return the SD card once you figuredo it out.
     
  11. Tony Perry

    Tony Perry Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    7
    It's an SD card that I had been using in my P3P. Just for grins, i popped it into the P3P and it works fine in there....So weird.
     
  12. Anthony

    Anthony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    Did you format the card through the dji app in the drone ??

    Sent from my SM-G925F using MavicPilots mobile app
     
  13. Tony Perry

    Tony Perry Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    7
    The DJI app in the Mavic times out when I try to format it. The P3 Pro is able to format it no problem.
     
  14. Anthony

    Anthony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    UK
    And what about the 16 gig card can you format that one in the mavic ??
     
  15. Tony Perry

    Tony Perry Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    7

    Yes. I tried several different 16gb cards and they all worked fine. I guess it just doesn't like this card for whatever reason. It's a PNY Elite U3.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Gimbal Disconnected Forum Date
Gimbal not level.. wtf Mavic Pro Discussions Monday at 5:58 PM
Crashed Mavic, Gimbal ripped off General Discussions Monday at 5:22 PM
WTB: gimbal clamp Classifieds Sunday at 4:06 PM
Mavic gimbal lock General Discussions Saturday at 1:31 PM
Gimbal motor overloaded Mavic Pro Help Nov 30, 2016

Share This Page