DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Gimbal Twitch when flying sideways? - Not Anymore

ElGuapo

Reactions
I have a gimbal twitch that happens most of the time when flying side ways. I thought it was a fw update and updated my Mavic's to the latest update and calibrated everything as recommended, needless to say the issue still there.

Thinking of contacting DJI when we come back from vacation ( we are flying out of the country on a vacation in 3 days, the Mavic is coming with us on this trip), aside from the warranty I also have DJI Care Refresh but I am trying to avoid at all possible going this route. If I send in my Mavic I may receive a refurbished unit with other problems.

Any tricks that help with this will be highly appreciated.

Have you guys seen this?:

To answer your question, yes I have seen it. It appears to happen when a combination of yaw and roll are used and a lot of times it ends with a titled horizon for the remainder of the flight. If you pay close attention, you can see it happens at the exaxt moment you release your yaw movement. I've been keeping up with similar threads hoping someone has come up with a solution, namely DJI but they don't seem to have fixed it yet. It looks to be a software issue though so I'm hopeful that it will be addressed in a future update. I have had pretty good success with minimizing the chance of it happening by changing the exp settings on the controls to slightly softer settings. Seems to happen primarily when the aircraft makes abrupt changes in attitude.

Actually in your case it looks like you started out the flight with the tilted horizon issue already and the twitch actually fixed it. Have you manually adjusted your roll before? I'd recommend resetting it back to 0 (if you have it set to anything else) and doing a fresh IMU calibration (do this regardless) and keep the aircraft movements smooth until they sort out the issue.