DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Glyphs or Moverio BT-300s ?

Phrede

Reactions
I'm about to pull the trigger on some FPV goggles and am leaning heavily towards the Glyphs. Is this the way to go? The factors, for me... I wear glasses, always. Well, almost always :). I have zero FPV experience. I really like the idea on maintaining LOS, eliminating many "box in your face" goggles / spotters. YMMV

I currently run a Nvidia Shield K1 so HDMI output is no problem. BTW, I wish I never did the Nougat upgrade and am in the process of going back to Marshmallow. Nougat and DJI Go seems to have stability issues and Nougat just seems to not perform as well generally.

I see other uses for the Glyphs away from the Mavic as well in my living room. Also, maybe with my GoPros? The BT-300s not so much, I may be wrong.

I think the image may be better with the Glyphs technology? they have audio and are cheaper.

I may also be trying the Litchi software. I am getting the newest Samsung VR headset with my S8+ at the end of the month, but I'm concern with LOS there. Also, I prefer keeping my phone separate from my flight hardware.

Are the DJI Goggles ever going to happen? The announcement on the 23rd? or is it only the Spark?

Is there something similar other than these two that I'm missing?

Why shouldn't I do it.

Thoughts? Comments?

My opinions:

Glyph Pros
  • Probably better image quality
  • Good quality built-in sound (not useful for drone, but for watching movies etc)
  • Proven compatibility with HDMI output supporting lightbridge devices
  • Appears just slightly less expensive than BT-300
Glyph Cons
  • Bigger/Heavier
  • Must have something that outputs HDMI to use (another device, taking space, consuming power)
  • Blocks vision (can look "around" them easily, but still blocks a lot of your field of view)
  • No ability to use your own choice of headphones, or upgrade for better (or lighter/smaller) headphones later.