DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Ground elevation on a sectional chart

samd012

Reactions
I am studying for the 107 and have a question which I can not seem to grasp. On the attached chart
The terrain elevation of the light tan area between Minot (area 1) and Audubon Lake (area 2) varies from how many feet to how many feet.
I am not just looking for the answer but an explanation of how you came up with it.

Attachments

• 107q copy.png
    107q copy.png
    3.3 MB · Views: 164
Looking at the obstacle heights, you can say 2345-226=2119ft elevation near (1) and 2524-303=2221ft near (2).

So about 102ft.

That said, I didn't look to check the other obstacles didn't indicate a bigger terrain elevation difference, and I'm not familiar with FAA charts, so you shouldn't take my advice over that of someone else who does know FAA land and actually has a 107

Looking at the obstacle heights, you can say 2345-226=2119ft elevation near (1) and 2524-303=2221ft near (2).

So about 102ft.

That said, I didn't look to check the other obstacles didn't indicate a bigger terrain elevation difference, and I'm not familiar with FAA charts, so you shouldn't take my advice over that of someone else who does know FAA land and actually has a 107

I appreciate the input but that is not even one of the 3 options. I thought I was pretty good with sectionals overall but this one has me stumped.

What are the options?
There are a few ways to determine terrain elevations on sectionals.
The most basic is the color of the area. In your example, the tan area indicates a max terrain between 2000 and 3000 feet, while the green area by the lake is 1000-2000.

In addition, there are sometimes spot elevations indicated by a a dot in front of the elevation, like .2160, which would indicate a spot elevation of 2160' MSL