DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Help - GPS offset at a location/drift when it didn't seem to be

niclariv

Reactions
Hi all

I'm pretty new to the Mavic, and finally got it back up in the air today after waiting for my Refresh (indoor crash.. long story I'll write about another time).

I've had something strange happen with the new one. I took it out to my parent's house for a flyover. I'd flown the old one there before and it was completely stable. This time when I fired it up I noticed that the home point was recorded as being a little to the side - on the roof instead of in the courtyard of their place (it's shaped like a capitol H without the top part). So I turned it off and on again (I haven't figured out if there's an alternative solution to correct it if the wrong home point is recorded, though in this case as you'll see below maybe that wouldn't have helped), and this time the home point appeared to be correct. When I took off the drone drifted - slowly but noticeably. I didn't risk flying it anywhere, just brought it back down and struggled to land it on the table I launched it from due to the continual drift.

Looking at the replay of the flight in the DJI Go 4 app, I can see all the drifting and I saw that the GPS never had full bars, so I thought maybe it was a bad GPS signal (though I wondered why it would have been perfect the other time I've flown in the exact same location).

But the weird thing is, when I looked back at the flight replay of the old flight at my parents', (the flight that was completely stable), it shows the entire flight a little to the left of where it actually took place, including the home point being on the roof, not in the middle of the little courtyard.