DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hit Me Up if You Find Yourself in Springfield, Mo.

jeffrey

Reactions
Just wanted to leave this here in case someone close to me gets into the Mavic world and is looking to go do some flying. I'm just starting out in the UAS world with a Mavic but I can tell I'm going to always enjoy this. :)
Thanks!
Jeff

Hey in STL here now that the weather is warming up plan on going flying more.

Hey Ulysses,
I typically fly at Busiek state park or Mark Twain National Forrest. I have been in contact with a local club called Barnstormers RC, but have yet to fly there just yet. I've been flying for the past three months or so, but with our amazing weather its been fairly tough. Not sure what you are using to verify flying areas, but I highly recommend AirMap and the official B4UFly App. The only area's these don't cover from what I've seen are Wilderness Areas (which is on the roadmap for AirMap). Let me know if you have any more questions.

Thanks for the information. I just bought mine Monday so I've only flown in the back yard for my. My daughters love it and wanna go to Nathaniel Greene Park and fly. I looked up parks rules and saw no mention of Drone restrictions. I will research your suggestions and see what I find. I would also love to fly at Ha Ha Tonka.

I actually hiked in Ha Ha Tonka a few weeks back, but unfortunately with 30-35MPH Gusts I wasn't completely comfortable flying. It is right within the air limits of a local airport, but its about 4.7 miles away so I dont see any issues getting clearance to fly. I would definitely do research on where you can and cant fly according to the FAA.

Just wanted to leave this here in case someone close to me gets into the Mavic world and is looking to go do some flying. I'm just starting out in the UAS world with a Mavic but I can tell I'm going to always enjoy this. :)
Thanks!
Jeff