DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hopeful soon to be pilot

drat

Reactions
Hi, Daniel in southern AZ. I have been looking to get a drone and the Mavic looks like the coolest thing I've ever seen. I have zero experience with these things outside of a cheap sharper image toy which I crashed a lot. I looked at a lot of the 107 certification study info and seems I may be in way over my head in that department. The info I see seems like these things basically fly themselves. Wondering if this would be a little over the top to start with. Thanks for any info.

Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :)

I looked at a lot of the 107 certification study info and seems I may be in way over my head in that department.
Are you looking to fly commercially? If not, you don't need to delve in the FAA Part 107 content.

I hope to have the option to make a little cash to offset the cost. I was also looking to have a solid understanding of the info to hopefully make me a more responsible recreational user.

If you're looking to fly commercially, the Mavic's camera is simply not that great. For personal use it's fine - in which case, you don't have to worry about the 107 licensing. While the Mavic handles a lot of the work for you, it definitely doesn't fly itself. Well, it can - but that's not why we buy them :cool:. It is the most stable drone I've seen, so it does "help" you out quite a bit while you are learning to fly.

I definitely am falling into the more money than brains category with this one. I have always been interested in a drone then saw a video for this thing and decided I really want one. As far as commercial use goes it would probably be used for taking rock climbing pics and videos. With the ever expanding opportunities with these popping up I don't want to sell myself short with uses though