DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How many new Mavic owners have already registered with the FAA?

CactusJackSlade

Reactions
Have you registered?

Just a reminder :) and of course it helps to make everyone aware of your flying responsibilities by reviewing the rules when you register...

I did :)

FYI, if anyone needs to register, you can do it here on the FAA's website.

That's correct lightspeed, if your a hobbiest. I hate the fact that even FAA says you need to register your drone.... As a hobbiest, you do not register drones. You register yourself as a drone pilot and then you get a number that's assigned to you. So then, you can have hundreds of drones all with the same number.

Now, as a Commercial pilot, I need to register each of my professional drones separately. And yes, I have registered my Mavic for my business. :)

Sent from my SM-G935V using MavicPilots mobile app

While it is you that must register, you get a number that you must apply to your drones. It's a small number (I seem to recall it was five or eight) that is covered. Not hundreds.

It's a small number (I seem to recall it was five or eight) that is covered. Not hundreds.
Can you link us to the source where you found that information?

Can you link us to the source where you found that information?
I checked the register my drone FAA site, and couldn't find the information on how to apply the registration number to your UAS. You can put it on the outside or on the inside in a spot like the batter compartment. I couldn't find any of those details and I recall seeing that information right after I registered. I logged into my account and ask it to email me a copy of my registration but so far I haven't found this information again. It's got to be lurking somewhere. Tried places like the FAQs but no luck yet.

I've never seen such information either. There should be no such limitation since you're only registering yourself.