DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

How often do the blades need to be changed?

bon_foto

Reactions
Just got my Mavic Pro and woundering how often do I need to change the blades.

Inspect them carefully for damage prior to each flight. Change them when they are damaged.

Reactions: MavicMo
No damage is normal. Other than scuff marks from folding them, they should be as pristine as the day you unwrapped them.

Please post a detailed photo.

I'm very new to this. Sorry about silly question...

Attachments

• IMG_9315.JPG
    IMG_9315.JPG
    146.6 KB · Views: 514
I would replace it if i had a spare but keep it as ur back up spare its most definately usable. I doubt that its out of balance becuz of that chip.
If it makes an unusual new sound, flys different or shows any signs of change from normal then its ready to toss. Otherwise ur fine. Forget about it

Sent from my iPhone using MavicPilots

Reactions: Logger
I believe this small cut is considered damage and shouldn't be used , right?
6c80c39a8557409f03c922bff6ab844d.jpg

Sent from my iPad using MavicPilots

Don't use that! The crack will spread under flight load and the blade may disintegrate with the imbalance. Your drone will crash if that happens!

Reactions: ksmusa
Both of those blades should be RED X'd, taken out of service at once. The force applied to a blade is in direct relation to how far it is from the tip, the tip being where it is the greatest due to centrifugal force. Cracks or chips anywhere on the blade renders them not safe for flight. Destroy them so you won't grab it be accident when installing the blades. I for one never store or transport the Mavic with the blades installed, I always remove them and place them in a felt bag (the one supplied by DJI is great)