DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Is this why we are so restricted with our quads?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, idiots faces are on the video.

"No, you see, it's ok for me to fly this over the stadium and lots of people because I am an expert pilot." Which is of course why you've included footage of you ******** up along with footage of breaking the rules.

I agree, this is why there are more and more rules being made. :(

wow, read the comments on the youtube vid as well, most everyone seemed to think he was awesome. those mavics are pretty heavy, i mean, if it falls and hits someone on the head, that could very well be fatal. just imagine a rock the same weight as a drone, would you throw it off a building in down town SD.

He did get lucky that the mavic is such a great machine that it regained itself. If the mavic fell from 300ft and hit someone in the head it would most likely kill them.

Actually FAA just released a study about the dangers of free falling drones. Not as serious a risk as initially thought. Test showed a Phantom sized drone only presented 10% chance of serious injury, let alone death. Mavic is considerably smaller. Not that I am condoning this guy's decision making.

I believe DJI alone will be selling 1 million units / year in a short time (maybe already doing it).

If only 5% of all owners are completely nuts / irresponsible, we are talking 50.000 of them ADDED each year to the airspace.

Only a matter of time for more and more serious accidents.[/QUOTE]

Reactions: frequentflyer
Yes The comments like the ones that say they can not wait to do the same thing.. I seen one video where a guy was flying in a park and the next day park ranger came to his house and gave him a ticket I wonder if they could do the same with this guy? The park ranger tracked him down through his YouTube video to give the fine.