DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Jane stop this crazy thing!

Bill Debevc

Reactions
Ok I am new at this. But yesterday I hit a chain link fence, me getting cocky. Today I flew into the middle of a few palm trees. Flying a but too fast.

There has got to be a way to get it to stop quicker.

Btw the fence broke 3 props. On the palm tree the Mavic bounced off and keep hovering. Then I had to gingerly fly it out of the way between the trees.

Sent from my iPad using MavicPilots

I hope you have DJI Refresh, because at the rate you're going you'll need it. On a serious note, I suggest either you fly high above crap or get to know the area you're flying in a little better.

Slow the controls down too.. I found it to allow me to make bigger mistakes as a beginner. Once I got better thumb control and aircraft control in general I made them faster

Reactions: toegema
Bill ! put it in beginner mode.....get used to it and then put it in normal mode and fly it in open spaces to get used to it and then get cocky ! Learn all about it and it will love you back. I have 45 flights including some indoors and (knock on wood) not a nick and have not flown into anything..... yeah, it will happen some day when I put it into sport mode and do something stupid however I have been taking the time it takes to learn everything about the toy first..... and how it responds.....

Glad to know you have DJI Care refresh. In this hobby is not a matter if you crash, it is a matter of when you crash. It is just a matter of time when this will happen, you're just accelerating the "when' part.

Reactions: Twan and Icarus
Here is a photo of the palm trees I was stuck between.

76ee23d00c534f8612f9ed0047de22d5.jpg

Sent from my iPad using MavicPilots

You are flying in what seems to be a pedestrian area and an area close to a road, have you considered the limits of your talent and the risks to others, you have responsibilities.