DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Let's talk about the downward facing sensors

saudio

Reactions
After thinking about and discussing hand catching the Mavic (in another thread) I determined that I would probably disable the downward facing sensors when I need to hand catch. Then I started thinking about those sensors a little bit more. One problem is that turning off the sensors is a little bit of a pain because they are buried a few layers deep in the menus. Another is remembering to turn them back on.

I graduated from the P3A to the Mavic. I'm not sure how much I like Mavic this landing method where you have to hold down the stick to make it auto land from about 2 feet. With the P3A you flew the drone until it touched the ground, and I rather prefer that.

Also, with the P3A, I remember reading that if you had the downward sensors turned on and flew over any reflective surface (water in particular) it could cause the drone to behave unpredictably. So on the P3A I disabled the downward sensors, knowing that I would enable them for indoor flight.

So, where I'm going with this, is I'm wondering if just turning off the downward sensors on my Mavic and leaving them off might be a good choice for me.

Pros: 1. Hand catching is easier and safer (IMHO). 2. No worries about unpredictable handling over water, and I fly over water occasionally. 3. I have full control over the landing, not just down to 2 feet.

Cons: 1. Must remember to turn it back on for indoor flight. 2. RTH will not be as precise. 3. Obstacle avoidance during descent would be disabled (this is not a biggie for me, I rarely descend much unless I'm in line of sight or have the camera facing down).

Any thoughts about this?

PS the more I fly the Mavic the more I like it.

Reactions: ContentedVideo
Pretty much the logic I've been playing around with myself. Love to hear more input on this, especially the downsides... (no pun intended)