DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Maiden Night Flight (How to take night photography?)

edmundjp

Reactions
I am new to the Mavic. Just got my flight about 2 weeks ago.
Tonight I tried to fly at night to take some photos. This is the result (pic) at ISO100, 2sec, tripod mode with ND4 filter. The image is blurry.
I saw some of the night pictures taken by our forumers were crisp sharp. How did you guys do that?
a0b76329bbbcf22b061ea3ec9d43fdf3.jpg

Reactions: sonof40
Congrats!
On the night photography (which I havent done yet with my mavic):
ND filters are there to restrict the amount of light that reaches the sensors. They are mainly used (with the mavic) to increase the shutter time, thus keeping the shuttertime in the ballpark of twice the amount of fps. This will yield the least flickering movies.
For night photography, you will generally want as short a shutter time as possible and as low an iso sensitivity as possible (as both, high iso and long shutter times will yield noise, and long shutter time will yield blur). So I would take the ND filter off (unless you were doing that to get these nice long streaks of the headlights).
No idea why the image is so blurry, probably the mavic moved a bit? Maybe some more experienced users know of some more advanced mavic control settings which make it even more stable?

The Miami scene which was a stitch of two frames was sharp. He claimed a 1 sec exposure, though I doubt that. From an airborne a/c, it just doesn't sound doable to me. In yours, you're close. Definitely remove the ND, then see what 1 sec yields. Please report your result, here.

Reactions: joo2e and edmundjp
Thank you for the replies.
Will try again without the filter and definitely will report the result here.

If it's a still night you can easily get nice sharp 2 second exposures with the Mavic. See my last ones here Night shots.
As suggested, remove the ND filter.