Mavic compass failed to calibrate

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by AYA74, Nov 12, 2016.

  1. AYA74

    AYA74 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi. I just received my Mavic yesterday, did a full upgrade of the unit and RC firmware and while outdoor and trying to calibrate, impossible to calibrate despite being in open field without any metallic stuff around me. When checking the sensor, it shows that only Compass 1 is in use and seems to react to the magnetic environment but not the compass 2 that stays in the red... any one know would know how to fix this problem? Do I have a defect unit? See some screenshots for your reference.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]



    Sent from my iPhone using MavicPilots
     
  2. Alex Baxter

    Alex Baxter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    34
    Looks like a broken compass to me, but like it says, contact DJI. That's tough luck, I feel for you, receiving it broken..
     
  3. rockydog

    rockydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London UK
    Probably not very useful, but just a few quick thoughts.........Are you standing well away from your controller/phone? Have you emptied pockets of keys etc,? Are you wearing an Apple watch? Any metal plates in your body?

    Hope you get it sorted:(
     
  4. AYA74

    AYA74 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep, nothing magnetic or metallic on me and standing a few meters away from the remote while doing the calibration move... unless I am a humanoid, looks like I got a defective unit... maybe the first of this kind


    Sent from my iPhone using MavicPilots
     
  5. Anthony

    Anthony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    UK
  6. AYA74

    AYA74 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is confirmed to be hardware failure from another guy in HK who experienced the same problem. He got it exchanged the same day but as I am living in Singapore and ordered from Apple, I have no clue yet how long it is going to take for replacement...
    Compass 2 Failed ?



    Sent from my iPhone using MavicPilots
     
  7. Anthony

    Anthony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Thats a shame .... lets hope your exchange happens quickly . .
     
  8. beachcombing

    beachcombing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    18
Loading...
Similar Threads - Mavic compass failed Forum Date
I traveled the MAVIC 100 km away, but didn't switch it on, Should i recalibrate compass? Mavic Pro Help Nov 19, 2016
Anybody in the San Diego area want a Mavic? (Flyless) Classifieds Today at 4:17 AM
How to fly Mavic Pro BACKWARDS using Waypoints in LITCHI? Mavic Pro Help Today at 1:49 AM
Mavic fly more combo for sale Classifieds Today at 1:20 AM
Mavic Pro night flight over Junction City Photos and Videos Today at 12:10 AM

Share This Page