DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic did not RTH. Kept drifting away and had to do an emergency landing. Why?

pseudeep

Reactions
Hi experts,

First off, I am relatively new to droning and just received my Mavic five days ago. I had been reading up in prep for it and have run a bunch of simulations and short practice flights after receiving it. All have been successful with no crashes.

Yesterday, I took it out for a flight in a relatively open area (large area that has construction going on in some spots, but large open swaths of land in others).I mainly wanted to test the RTH function and fly a little further (LOS) than usual. Below is my healthydrones summary:

HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters

If you look at the Notifications tab, you can see that 1 minute 9 sec into the flight I initiated RTH (when the drone was 188 ft away). It successfully returned to home. If you see, I have set my RTH altitude the same as Max altitude (400 ft), so it gave a "max altitude reached" warning when RTH. I will be changing that so that my RTH altitude is lower than the max altitude. Anyway, it returned to home.

At 4min 8 sec, it reached the home point and was hovering 4ft about the home spot. At that point, I canceled RTH and flew it back up into the air (since I gained confidence by this point that the RTH function was working fine). This time, I flew it further out but still within LOS, for the most part. As you can see, at 8min 27 sec, it was at the farther end of LOS for me and I decided to initiate RTH again.