Mavic Gimbal clamp - remove before flying.

Discussion in 'Mavic Pro Discussions' started by Pedro, Oct 21, 2016.

  1. Pedro

    Pedro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    336
    Location:
    East Sussex. UK.
  2. Advexure

    Advexure Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    If I'm not mistaken, there is a Gimbal Clamp and a Gimbal Cover. You must remove the Gimbal Clamp before powering on the aircraft but you can leave the Gimbal Cover on for flight if you choose to do so. Will need to confirm this with my colleague who has the demo unit...
     
  3. HeliFreak

    HeliFreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    41
    ^ Yes this true.

    I already can't wait for the after-market to come up with a better clamp. The one for the P3 was awful, and this one looks just as bad with it's behind the camera mounting. Maybe it won't be that bad in real-world use.
     
  4. kmaluo

    kmaluo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    121
    Yes, definitely waiting for a single clamp/lens cover piece
     
  5. dam

    dam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    OhCanada
    I can see alot of excited mavic first timers forgetting to remove this prior.. hopefully no damage occurs the first few times..
     
  6. msinger

    msinger Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    5,922
    Likes Received:
    2,565
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    It'll most likely be just fine. Lots of people have done this with Phantoms (and other DJI aircraft). It rarely causes damage to the gimbal.
     
  7. Dronebow

    Dronebow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    164
    Never saw a need for a gimble clamp with my P3. It was loose in the case and has never had any problems at all. In fact, I figured it was maybe worse if it got jarred with a clamp on than without personally...
     
  8. DefaultIT

    DefaultIT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    55
    I have had problems without a clamp in place (every once in a while it gets left behind); involved travel (like flights, train, etc.) has jarred dampener mounts loose for me on several occasions. More recently I hastily shoved the Phantom into the case and had some minor trouble on startup because the camera wound up pointed down far enough to prevent the boot-up movements and subsequently would not tilt (all I had to do was point it more level and restart)

    All that said, it looks to me like the factory clamp is much better executed this time around; I see no fiddling to get it off
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Mavic Gimbal clamp Forum Date
Crashed Mavic - Gimbal no longer stable, but, can I fly with clamp on to still get stable shot? Mavic Pro Help Apr 23, 2017
Just received new Mavic, gimbal clamp fell off in shipping Mavic Pro Help Mar 24, 2017
Mavic Pro: Gimbal vertical rotation stuck, touching anti-vibration plate Mavic Pro Discussions Tuesday at 4:48 PM
Mavic Refresh Gimbal Issue Mavic Pro Discussions May 19, 2017
Mavic gets better range with Gimbal cover on? Mavic Pro Discussions May 19, 2017

Share This Page