DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Moiré / Aliasing in 1080p 60fps

Ed209

Reactions
I had posted this in a thread over in the general section but I think this deserves it's own thread here in the Mavic section since it isn't really "general". Mods, if you feel it should be deleted/moved, no problems.
I was sold but after i saw this.....

Here is what I said:

I'm not a pro videographer or even trying to be one but my amateur eye saw the difference right away. Having owned and flown the P3S, P3A, and P3P, the Mavic falls short in 1080p 60fps. I disagree with the notion of shooting anything below max quality is a waste. Shooting fast moving objects such as boats and cars and wildlife look much better in 60fps (IMO). I never had any issues with the P3A and P3P with 1080P 60fps. No aliasing/moiré at all. The P3S has a different sensor and it showed. The video was less detailed, more jagged on edges and trees for example. The Mavic in 1080p 60fps looks the same as the P3S to me. I haven't tried 1080p 30fps to compare but I may just do it for giggles. It is not a deal breaker for me since this is just a hobby and I have other birds to fly but if it was my only one, I'd be pissed. Here's a little comparison I did. I exported the video out of FCPX to Compressor at 45Mbps bitrate...And of course YouTube has it's way with recompressing. Irregardless, you can see the difference here.

Reactions: babyjocko
This has been covered a few dozen times. The 1080 60fps mode on this chip has moire. DJI has said that mode is for FPV. They should have advertised it as such up front but anyone who does a little research before purchasing will see it. If you must have 1080p @ 60fps, the Mavic is probably not for you. There are always trade offs when making something as portable as the Mavic is. 2.7K is the sweet spot for this chip.