DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

National Trust NO GO

sir.knight

Reactions
Hi everyone
I have just received my mavic, with a view to going out into the scenic areas of the the uk to capture some photos and videos, being a considerate operator I have looking at the rules etc of where I can fly a drone, I now find that a lot of my countryside is out of bounds The National Trust don't allow it.
Of the various reason they quote is -
"Some sites may have wildlife or agricultural animals, or animals which are sensitive to disturbance, such as birds and deer herds, which could be alarmed or stressed by the presence of drones, especially at breeding times"
I live near to the peak district where if you are a bird on national trust moorland you can be shot ! but not stressed by a drone.

My other half has recently been trying to get me to pay out to join the National Trust I now have a valid reason to say NO.

I would love to hear any views on this.

As a British citizen and relating to that anedocte about the frog and the boiling water pan, you're just being shock-awaken to a reality I, as a visiting foreigner, took imediate notice this last summer, while on photography-oriented trip to the Lake District:

That the NT "owns" those places.

Together with the amount of very large lakeside private properties strictly enforcing "no trespass" provisions, the omnipresence and prohibitions-oriented overbearing of the NT on the place, made me feel something I never felt anywhere else in the world and that took me a while to fully understand what it was:

The very unpleasant feeling that I was not actually visiting a location but rather being "allowed" to be there. :(

MK

Last edited:
Reactions: sir.knight
covert operations........... is the key word here.. I bought my mavic so I could be in and out with anyone discovering my where abouts.
the mavic is smaller and quieter than my inspire and P4...