DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Mavic in Ajax ON

I am new here. Not in Ajax but in Markham. Where you guys flying your Mavic? Can't really find a place in Markham to fly.

Keith-Markham I'm no expert on the rules, but if you live in Toronto (or in Markham) you're going to find it hard to find spaces to fly that meet the regulations. The big one is "no flying within 9km of an airport".
So in Toronto the Billy Bishop Island Airport that rule covers an area west of High Park, well north of Eglinton Ave, and east of Ashbridges Bay.
And Downsview and Toronto International airports rule out most of the North.
And then on top of that the rules say not near any buildings...
I'd suggest flying in a park not near an airport - in Ajax I flew over Duffins Creek yesterday and it was great.
So for the pilots in Kawartha and Brooklin you're in for a lot of great flying choices!
Happy droning!

Last edited:
I am new here. Not in Ajax but in Markham. Where you guys flying your Mavic? Can't really find a place in Markham to fly.
Keith I have a thought for you down lower in the chain - because Markham will indeed be difficult to fly in under the currents Regs.

Reactions: Techstar
Keith-Markham I'm no expert on the rules, but if you live in Toronto (or in Markham) you're going to find it hard to find spaces to fly that meet the regulations. The big one is "no flying within 9km of an airport".
So in Toronto the Billy Bishop Island Airport that rule covers an area west of High Park, well north of Eglinton Ave, and east of Ashbridges Bay.
And Downsview and Toronto International airports rule out most of the North.
And then on top of that the rules say not near any buildings...
I'd suggest flying in a park not near an airport - in Ajax I flew over Duffins Creek yesterday and it was great.
So for the pilots in Kawartha and Brooklin you're in for a lot of great flying choices!
Happy droning!