DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Mavic Pilot

Ren57

Reactions
Okay, After waiting 3 months, my Mavic finally arrived. The first week when I got it, the weather was typically rubbish here in the United Kingdom. I spent the time getting to know all the controls and setting everything up. I've been flying drones for a few years now and I am in fact a Civil Aviation Authority approved commercial operator, that's the equivalent of a part 107 operator in the USA.

Back to the Mavic. The first flight was a triumph, things couldn't have gone better. Obviously I was very careful and basically just checked that everything was working and it was! Eager, I did a 2nd flight later in the day at a different location. Again everything was Okay except the DJIGO4 app crashed but I never lost control of the aircraft with the RC. I am generally very impressed with the quality of the Mavic considering it's a mass produced item. It feels solid and the design is brilliant. I bought it for its ease of transportation, no more carrying heavy boxes or bags everywhere! That and the fact that the camera can be tilted 30 degrees up, which makes it perfect for doing things like bridge inspections or looking under the eves of house roofs.

3rd flight (everything calibrated before the flight btw) and again the DJIGO4 app crashed again but this time about 10 seconds after that had happened, I lost the connection with the aircraft from the RC. A heart stopping moment as it just hovered where it was for about 10 seconds and then just shot off like a demented wasp! Anyway, I shouldn't have worried, it was in fact doing exactly what it's supposed to do if you lose connection with the RC, it returned to home, phew! And landed exactly where I had taken off from, impressive indeed.