DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

No calibrating has been done, no problems.

JHSlayer

Reactions
I'm new to this so just curious. My Mavic is flying great, holds steady and is always pointing the direction it shows on the map. Never calibrated anything out of the box and was never asked to do so. Why are most people saying to calibrate the compass if it's flying great and not telling me to? Just hard for me to mess with anything when there are no problems.

The only thing I have calibrated is the Compass.
If it was calibrated in China it is going to have a slightly different heading than in North America.

No need to calibrate the compass if it is flying predictably and as intended. There will be a notification within the DJIGO 4 app that prompts you to calibrate the compass if it is needed. It is also a good idea to calibrate the compass without being prompted if flying in an area that is 100 miles or more away from your current flight spots.

Reactions: SafariMan
No need to calibrate the compass if it is flying predictably and as intended. There will be a notification within the DJIGO 4 app that prompts you to calibrate the compass if it is needed. It is also a good idea to calibrate the compass without being prompted if flying in an area that is 100 miles or more away from your current flight spots.

^
This!
(+ only calibrate if asked to or in case of malfunction)

I've never calibrated anything in over a hundred fifty flights. Out of the box with no prompts and no problems.

Nope. I took the manual literally and it says don't calibrate unless prompted.
Well that's how I took it too and have yet to do any of them. I just seam to be in the minority. I figure it hovers in one spot, flies the direction it says it is and can find home so why mess with it. I have not gone any great distances from home, but I assume if it's off in any way you'd notice or be told to calibtate even at closer distances.