DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Noob here, stupid question about vlos

boone

Reactions
I'm completely new to this kind of drone/quad/whatever I can call it that won't offend someone/ and I will confess to having nervous breakdowns nearly every time I fly. I'm working through my problems by practicing in safe environments and just recently I've started to venture out further. Where I live, I honestly spend about half of my time over water. That's terrifying enough for a new pilot. I have never flown further than about 800' away and never more than 200' high but...to finally get to my question, if I fly my bird behind trees (in an area where I am at a very safe altitude and very familiar with the area) if I fly the mavic behind some trees to get her into my vlos but at a different angle, am I risking a lost connection? Again. This is always inside of 800' away, and I'll only be blocked for maybe 15-20 seconds while I (hopefully) pilot her back into vlos. Is this risky? I see people posting videos where they fly like 32 miles away, so I feel like I'm ok, but just wanted some sound advice from the experts around here. Thanks.

Reactions: FlybyWyre
Dunno exactly, but I went behind some trees today and kept contact. But nearly hit a big Douglas Fir.

You probably wont have any problem. Just set your RTH altitude to a safe one, over the trees. Worst case scenario, MP will RTH and you can cancel it when get VLOS again.
I'm new to MP, but I had my share of breakdowns in the past when disconnect appears on the screen.
Good luck :)

Reactions: boone
Just FYI, the spec range quoted by DJI is 4.3mi (FAA), so not sure where you saw stock Mavic doing 32mi (I have to figure it is stock since you are comparing to yours).

Just FYI, the spec range quoted by DJI is 4.3mi (FAA), so not sure where you saw stock Mavic doing 32mi (I have to figure it is stock since you are comparing to yours).