DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Noob thinks he's Frances effing Coppola

Ryder

Reactions
OK, new at drones. I've flown the Mav for not even an hour... and in that time tried lots of camera presets and even mixed resolutions from 1080 to 4K... different shutter speeds, frame rates, and played with ND filters... and eventually got round to control and gimbal settings for cinema.

Somehow in the midst of all of this monkeying around, I got a little bit of footage that might pass for useable, so I thought I'd try to find a free editing package, beat the clips into submission, steal music from the late great Jerry Goldsmith... so now I'm a big time producer.

It's OK if you squint.

Yeah... I have a long way to go :) The inspiring work found in these threads will really challenge me to up the skillz a notch or two.

Last edited:
Reactions: JoostGT3
Haha so recognizable! And nice footage/editing, nothing to be ashamed of!
I see a lot of softness in the clips, is that youtube compression? What sharpness settings were you running at?

C'mon, man, you really are FF Copola. Admit it! :)

Haha so recognizable! And nice footage/editing, nothing to be ashamed of!
I see a lot of softness in the clips, is that youtube compression? What sharpness settings were you running at?

Well, that's the thing... I was trying everything under the sun... from out-of-the-box to custom everything. Some of it was 1080 with -2, -2, 0. Gah! (I got bad advice off the internets)

These days I'm +1, +1, 0, @ 2K. Art mode (it's reasonably flat)... 30 fps at a shutter of 60. Running 4 or 8 polarized NDs.

I'm using VideoPad because it's free/simple... and I've not played with the default compression (Windows Media Video 9, at 90%)