DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Orange County, CA area

Newbie here. Just got a Mavic.

My question...how many of you fly in Newport Beach regularly? Obviously, it's within 5 miles of John Wayne and multiple other helipads. Have you had any problems? What do I need to know?

(Registered already with the FAA and joined the AMA.)

You can text me 714-310-0686. I live in Aliso Viejo and there's a great RC park called Kite Hill nearby in Laguna Niguel. There are almost always other Phantom pilots on hand, and even a few fellow Mavic owners.

Let me know if you want to meet up some time.

Sent from my iPad using MavicPilots

Reactions: larryp and astroboy
You can text me 714-310-0686. I live in Aliso Viejo and there's a great RC park called Kite Hill nearby in Laguna Niguel. There are almost always other Phantom pilots on hand, and even a few fellow Mavic owners.

Let me know if you want to meet up some time.

Thank you. I'll keep that in mind. Right now, I'm primarily focused on shooting places near Newport.

Reactions: Dogstr
Do they still fly RC airplanes at Esperanza HS on the bluffs there in Costa Mesa?
That could be a likely spot.

Is that right by the golf course? My coworker just this morning mentioned a spot he was at this weekend which was on some bluffs. Guessing it is the same place. He said he say 2-3 people flying airplanes and a couple flying drones. Sounds like a perfect place.

Mine is supposed to ship this Friday. So maybe the following weekend?

Reactions: larryp
I was flying there two weeks ago practicing active track with a biker friend. Lots of space there.

Well right now it's muddy. There is an area where RC pilots fly, but I spent time flying in the wider area where bikers jump. I was there on a week day, so it wasn't crowded. Not sure how it is during weekends. For flying tracking or testing it's fine. But not scenic unlike other areas in the OC like Dana point