DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

P3A vs Mavic Range

Mavikhan

Reactions
I am about to buy my first drone and range is my #1 priority. Getting the best deal for my money is my 2nd priority. Camera quality is not much of a consideration because as a beginner I don't think I will be very discriminating. That is why I am not considering the P3 Pro. I don't expect to do much post-editing but I will use ND filters. Should I buy the P3 Advanced or the Mavic?

Reactions: Jayfly
I had a P3A for almost 2 years, to get the same range as the Mavic out of the box I had to add a long range panel antenna to the P3, as @MavicHelp stated above if range is your main criteria then the Mavic is best, not to mention an all around better quad :)

Reactions: Mavikhan
Thanks. I'm gonna roll with the Mavic. Better range, more bang for the buck, and quiet. Portability is not a priority for me but quiet is important. I forgot to mention that earlier.

Reactions: jointeffort
Since it is illegal to fly beyond sight why do you need the range, especially as a beginner

I need to recon several contiguous large farms.
That does not negate the law, unless you become a Licensed pilot. You said video quality was not important, well if you are doing recon I would think that it would be very important. The MavicPilots does not support full size tablets I would recommend if you do decide to break the law and fly out of sight anyway that you use a phantom = better camera and supports 10" tablets, overall a more robust system

That does not negate the law, unless you become a Licensed pilot. You said video quality was not important, well if you are doing recon I would think that it would be very important. The MavicPilots does not support full size tablets I would recommend if you do decide to break the law and fly out of sight anyway that you use a phantom = better camera and supports 10" tablets, overall a more robust system