DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Question for P4 to Mavic Owners

jamiemink

Reactions
So... I have an entry level P3S and have outgrown it in no time flat. I'm a passionate photographer, and as a result I'm torn between purchasing the P4 now while it's on sale for $995 or wait until Feb/Mar for the Mavic to hit the shelves (I'm hostage to purchase at Best Buy due to having a fistful of gift cards!).

Can people who have gone from a P4 to a Mavic chime in and help my decision? I've read tons and watched many videos on the technical comparisons and fully understanding them all, so knowing the science between the two isn't my conundrum. I'm looking for first hand user experience of both drones and the tidbits they can offer.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using MavicPilots

Last edited:
So I went from the P4B (black edition) to the mavic. Honestly I think in the long run the mavic is the better option as it has more flexibility and flight modes. Yes the camera isn't "as good" as the P4 but really who cares? The benefits of the mavic will outweigh the P4. I did love how solid the P4 felt and the ease of use with the stock controller and my iPhone 7+. The mavic controller is still a little funky for me since it doesn't fit my phone properly so I just use a mav mount. Not the best of solutions. Also the mavic gimbal just feels a little delicate and not as sturdy as the P4. I'm still getting used to the focus on the mavic as it seems slow to react sometimes, but could prove itself to be beneficial as more software becomes available.

So in short:
The Mavic is the leader in flexibility and options, the P4 is more "refined" (for the time being) and will probably do better for more windy/sunny (filter options) /harsh environments.

Reactions: jamiemink
I currently own both drones (P4 and Mavic).