DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Quick question about shutter speed/pan blur

Joedeertay

Reactions
Hey all,

I finally got my mavic!! What an amazing piece of technology...

I'm new to filming and have just being using the auto 4k 24fps setting.... But what I have noticed is when I pan(in any direction) I get a blurry/grainy view until I stop. I know enough that this is caused by the low FPS or low shutter speed. (I have adjusted my smooth gimbal/etc so it pans very slow)

My question is, is the anyway to adjust ONLY the shutter speed without having to go full manual mode(which since I'm new, I know I will get bad shots and I leave for my honeymoon in Aruba in 5 days.

All I want to do is get 4k 24/30fps with 50/60 shutter speed and I was just wondering if there was a way to accomplish this without disabling auto? Why didn't DJI do this in the first place becuase this is fps/shutter speed rule of thumb?

I just got Litchi, haven't really played around with it yet so don't know if I could do it there...

Any feedback/advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

If you use the right ND filter for the lighting conditions, the auto setting will likely bring your shutter speed close to where you want it.

I was in the same boat as you when I first got mine. Wanted an easy solution to get great shots every time.

I've come to conclude that you can get a decent shot leaving everything on auto and letting the camera figure out shutter speed and ISO but you're going to have to get into manual mode and buy some filters to get the most out of it. Spend an hour and read up on manual settings and you should be able to figure it out.

Also shooting in 4K at 24fps made it tough to get smooth shots when panning at all. Try 2.7K at 30fps.

Last edited:
And if you're going to get some ND filters, go with a Taco set. I have the Polar Pros and the Tacos and there's no question that the Tacos are the way to go.