DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

RTH failure

Yas786

Reactions
Hi everyone,

Just a quick question. I've had my mavic a few days and the first couple of flights I was flying it in my backyard. I've got a pretty large backyard but I kept it in beginner mode as I'm new to all this drone business.

Anyhow in my backyard RTH works well as in it will land pretty much where I take off from.

So today I thought I'd take a drive up to some very large open fields near where I live.

Anyhow started the mavic up, made sure I had plenty of gps signal and satellites. So I took off using the button in the app and also made sure I ticked the precise location button. Took my mavic up to about 80 metres and about 100 or so metres, so not very far as I still could see it ie line of sight.

So I used the RTH button on the controller and got worried when the drone started landing quite a distance away. Luckily it wasn't that far away so I let it land and then ran over to grab it.

Maybe I'm confused here but I thought with RTH the drone was meant to come back to where it took off and land?? But on this occasion it didn't do that.

So not sure what I did wrong or is it meant to work that way??

Like I said I'm new to drones so if anyone can explain the reason why it did that and how do I get it to land back where it took off from??

Btw I wasn't in beginner mode, so not sure if that had anything to do with it.

Thanks.

Hi everyone,

Just a quick question. I've had my mavic a few days and the first couple of flights I was flying it in my backyard. I've got a pretty large backyard but I kept it in beginner mode as I'm new to all this drone business.

Anyhow in my backyard RTH works well as in it will land pretty much where I take off from.

So today I thought I'd take a drive up to some very large open fields near where I live.