Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

this is what happened to me.. be CAREFUL

bucefalo

Reactions
guys what happened is really "crazy"..
in few lines:
1) turned on the drone..
2) wait for GPS.. i check compass and imu if they are just fine..
3)since I'm a newbie I check and over check the area I wanna fly..
4) ready i fly.. all good and 5 seconds later drone goes 100% crazy!
I get compass calibration error but I can't control mavic and it goes everywhere..
in those 20 seconds just panic, pure panic! suddenly it stops or I'm lucky enough to get control and I fly it back!
if there was ANYTHING around me.. i'd have hit it.. thank God was just an empty area and nothing happened..
so i started to think what was wrong(all in the preflight checks was fine.. so look at the picture :
3b7608d25f657bc15dd8e60ef7e180fe.jpg

I took off from this metal hatch and probably it did give all the calibration interference.. i was so lucky seriously!
do NOT take off from anything metallic.. don't or you might be not same lucky!

Reactions: Edjes
Usually being near a metal object will show compass error, but it clears as soon as you are away from it.
Calibrating compass near metal things is a bad idea though as that will be completely wrong further from it.
Your experience does sound like bad compass nonetheless.

Reactions: Kestrel
Usually being near a metal object will show compass error, but it clears as soon as you are away from it.
Calibrating compass near metal things is a bad idea though as that will be completely wrong further from it.
Your experience does sound like bad compass nonetheless.