DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Total noob here. A few questions before i crash!

Pabby1980

Reactions
Hi all,

Just received my Mavic Pro about 2 weeks ago. I've had it out a few times but i'm still completely new to all this and the weather really isn't helping me get any practice here in the UK!

Anyway, a few questions if any of you are kind enough to help;

1) I'm using the DJI GO app, not the DJI GO 4 app, even though apparently i should be doing it the other way around. I have a Samsung S5 which i use to fly with and the GO 4 app simply didn't want to connect, or work at all, whereas the GO app seems to work OK, begging the question.....why do i need to get the GO 4 app? Am i missing something?

2) I've just been looking at the DJI GO app comments on the Google Play Store and there are a whole bunch of posts about it not using Google Maps anymore, and the RTH function can now be up to 800m off it's actual location. Is this true, and if so should i just spend the £20 and get Litchi? (which seems to have some great reviews).

3) Without going into too much detail, am i still legally allowed to fly this drone around the UK? I'm not silly enough to fly it in city centres, but can i be fined for flying it over open countryside/parks/my own land? The answers seem to vary from person to person when i've asked so called "experts" (in the pub) and i'd rather just ask here and get a simple definitive answer.

4) Is there anyone who knows of a course, or a good set of videos to watch to learn how to fly this thing properly? It's my first quad, and although i've had it up in the air, i'm an amateur at best. Watching a few videos of people flying mini quads around their kitchens really exposes how poor my abilities are at the moment, so a few lessons or trusted tutorials would be advisable i think.