Trackimo Drone GPS Tracker with Drone attachment kit

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by PressMan, Nov 29, 2016 at 1:50 PM.

1. PressMan

PressMan Member

Dear Friends on Mavic Forum,
    I am a newbie here may I say great forum.
    Can I ask if you have any experience of using the above, how accurate is Trackimo in case of lost drone.
    Also how easy would it be to fit on the Mavic.
    Is this item worth the price. I am in Ireland. Europe so perhaps purchasing in the UK stockist.

Any advice is much appreciated.

Thank you.
    PressMan

2. Andy

Andy Well-Known Member

I don't think that you need this as the controller has a GPS tracker as long as the Mavic is still powered up.

3. Andersen Ross Productions

Trackimo is a solid piece of gear. We use one with our Inspire X5R, the big worry with GPS is your battery might die before you find her.

4. PressMan

PressMan Member

Thank you,

5. PressMan

PressMan Member

I see what you mean, thank you.

6. Richard in Ky

Richard in Ky Member

Yes it is very small and unlike the others that use GPS and you have a monthly fee it doesn't require any outside service that may not be available where it goes down and at ground level. I just suggest you research both types and both are common for use on other drones.

7. msinger

msinger Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

The Mavic itself contains a GPS receiver (I think that's what you mean). That'll be worthless though after the downlink disconnects. And, if the remote controller disconnects and your Mavic does not return home, then you're only hope will be an external GPS receiver mounted to your Mavic.

8. Andy

Andy Well-Known Member

No, you can track it down with the controller. Casey Neisat demonstrated it on one of his vids. It works as long as the Mavic is still powered.

9. msinger

msinger Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor