DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Traveling to Colombia, South America with a Mavic Pro...

Alex El Caballo

Reactions
So I will (God willing i get my bird before Dec 22..) traveling to Colombia and using the mavic pro while there.
My questions are these:
1. Will the MP be able to locate the GPS signals while there?
2. I have an iPad pro and iPhone 6+ for the RC but since the phone is locked will i be able to use maps in remote areas? The iPad pro is unlocked and has LTE could i use it for data with a sim card while there?

I will have access to wifi in the big cities but when i travel to farms no access to these luxuries.
Thanks for any info with this cuandrum. I am new to UAV's and do not have ANY knowledge regarding this deal..

1. Will the MP be able to locate the GPS signals while there?
Yes.

2. I have an iPad pro and iPhone 6+ for the RC but since the phone is locked will i be able to use maps in remote areas? The iPad pro is unlocked and has LTE could i use it for data with a sim card while there?
If you don't have cellular access, you could cache the maps in DJI GO in a location where you have an Internet connection before you head out to fly.

I guess i better get familiarized with the DJI GO app ASAP!!
Now here is another question from a technologically challenged person.
When you put a phone on airplane mode does it disable the internal GPS?

Yeah... I dunno if this gringo would risk taking his MP to Bogota when I go down there to visit the suegro y suegra, but I can certainly imagine the great footage that'd be possible!

Reactions: photoshoot
I just got back from Bogota. I didn't take my quad and I would be really apprehensive about flying it anywhere populated. The city is under heavy security with bomb dogs and security everywhere. Not sure what their laws are regarding drones.

I'm gonna be in the outskirts of Bogota, Chia to be exact.
The out to the family farms.