DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Uk Airspace rules - class c

minijay123

Reactions
Hi All

im new to drones and the mavic pro so please be gentle :)

ive recently been flying locally at low level so i can get used to the bird, i have used my back garden (which is long) and also a local play ground (was totally empty)

i know about the caa rules about being 50 meters away from people and 150 away from buildings which is fine i have mine set to 30 meters max altitude as im still learning and dont like the idea of it being to far away from me at the moment.

my problem is that i use the drone assist app which tells me im ok to fly in this area but the DJI app tells me im in a class c airspace. which do i believe.. there is a small airfield nearby which isnt used often so i assume DJI just put a 5 mile zone around every airport or airfield they spot on a map, again this is fine..

am i able to fly in this class c space as long as im under a certain altitude or must i get permission from the local airfield.. the reason i ask is ive tried to contact them but to no avail at the moment.

the area shows up as a class d 2500ft - 3500ft and a class a 3500ft to FL195 both of which i have no intention of getting anywhere near (this is for the approach to a larger airport not to far way.)

im just trying to get my head round it all so to make sure i fly safe and that everyone that needs to know is told to prevent any issues.. i dont plan on doing anything high level i believe we are allowed to go to 400ft but i dont think my heart would take that height so would say 200 would be my max until i got used to it and found an area where i know that height isnt an issue..